Note to self: every little counts

 

Note to self: every little counts

For weeks I have not written or read any poetry. The demands of a new job and illness have taken my time and motivation; I have ground to a halt. Recently I spoke to a fellow writer (Panya Banjoko) about this and she advised me to set aside time every day to write – even if it is only five minutes.

Now I am over my illness and I have had time to reflect, I acknowledge that the everyday occurrences of work, family and the unexpected are not excuses for procrastination and nothingness. In order to continue, I need to organise myself – better. My target is to read/write at least 4 times per week for at least 30mins (from experience without realising, at least an hour passes before I come up for air). I feel such a target is realistic for me!

 

Thirty minutes of focused reading/writing is better than nothing. I am going to start with, “The Day 30 Poetry Challenge: Prompts to Inspire Daily Writing Habits.”

 

I look forward to the challenge…….

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Black Writers Project, Poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

